Couture, Fabric, Fabric Storage

Fabulous Fabric Finds & Couture Kitty Fun

“Bridal Fabric? What Bridal Fabric?” Lol! I keep fabric stored inside glass cabinets in my sewing room until I am ready to cut it. I walked in to find Goku (aka Couture Kitty) inside a bag of bridal fabric that I had cut for an upcoming video (shameless plug here). He had somehow opened the bag and made himself quite comfortable on the beaded lace and satin stored within.

IMG_1987

IMG_1988

And he looks so mad that I want him to move! Having a pet around in the sewing room adds joy to everyday!

Okay – on to sewing stuff…

The stash blast is over and I am happy with the simple garments that I was able to whip up during the blast. I am even happier to be back to the attelier style sewing to which I have become accustomed. Having cleared out some space in my sewing room, it was thrilling to discover that Fashion Fabrics Club/Denver Fabrics is having a great sale. Whenever these types of sales occur, I always remind myself of a few key things.

  1. See the fabric for what it could be. Just because the site says it’s for dresses doesn’t mean I have to use it like that. Goods that I might not want for the outer garment work well for linings, accessories and more.
  2. At $1.79 – $10.95  per yard, it’s hard to go wrong.
  3. Stick to natural fibers whenever possible. If the color is off, a bottle of RIT dye can fix it.

Silk organza at 4.95/yard in cream? SOLD! I don’t care if it has a bit of light embroidery, I can still use it for a multitude of things. POLO wool for $10.95? YAY! I thought this piece of velvet, stablilized with interfacing would make a fun bag.

Mulberry Print Stretch Velvet – 8019 | Discount By The Yard | Fashion Fabrics.

This piece of black sateen is supposed to be dressweight but I think it would be nice as a luxe lining.

https://www.fashionfabricsclub.com/p812_12895-black-print-sateen. They also have Ralph Lauren linings for around $1.80

Ralph Lauren Lining

Not to be left out, Mood Fabrics has a lovely pure wool gauze from Donna Karan for $7.99 and Hancock Fabrics dropped the price on a stunning piece of Aubergine Wool Boucle by 50% plus my coupon for an additional 15% off. Sigh. Sewing is a lifelong passion and I have accepted that there will always be a pile of fabrics at my house.

Enjoy the sales!

Natalie

Leave a Reply

